The National Park

Mols Bjerge National Park covers an area of 180 km2 of large forests, moors and open dry grasslands as well as lakes, coastal areas and the sea. The park area extends from the
coast of Kattegat in the east to the forests at Kalø in the west, from the winding inlets in the south across the magnificent moraine formations of the hills of Mols Bjerge to the outwash plains of the Ice Age in the north. The National Park also includes the town of Ebeltoft as well as various villages and holiday cottage areas.

80% of the area of Mols Bjerge National Park is private property.


The objective of the National Park organisation is to preserve, strengthen and develop nature, the countryside, the cultural surroundings, the distinctive geological features and to provide visitors with excellent opportunities of outdoor activities and information about the area.

Establishment of the national parks is based on broad local support. Each national park has a decentralised management, consisting of a board, a national park council and a secretariat. The board and its chairman are appointed by the Danish Minister for the Environment. As far as possible, all members of the board have close affiliations to the national park area.

The board prepares a plan for the operation and development of the national park. The local community is asked to participate in this process. Development of the national parks will continue over a number of years, and will be based on voluntary agreements and local support.